Pause a team to help economize between projects

While teams on SurveyCTO servers are a great way to organize forms and data collection, they do have associated costs. What if you don't always need your teams? 

For users on multi-team servers you now also have the convenient option of pausing individual teams. This saves you the trouble of deleting and recreating teams to economize. While a team is paused, it will be hidden from view, and no one will be able to access any forms or datasets in that team group. No one will be able to upload submissions, or download and export data. All publishing connections will be paused.

To pause a team, follow the steps below:

  1. In the server console, go to the Configure tab and scroll to the section Your teams.
  2. Locate the Pause button below the team's title and click on it.
  3. Read the description carefully, and click on Pause team button to confirm.
  4. Importantly, if you do not wish to be charged a team-month credit for a team you have paused, there is an additional step. Visit the manage subscription page to edit your subscription to reduce the number of teams you'll be charged for.
  5. Make sure the number of teams in your subscription is equal to the number of active teams in the Configure tab.

 

Important note: If you currently have two active teams in your server, and would like to pause one of them, you will need to pause both. In SurveyCTO, a single team server is a server without any active teams. All users share the same group of forms and datasets, so can see everything.

 

pause_teams.png

What if you would like to keep using their forms, datasets and users?

As mentioned above, while a team is paused, everything related to the paused team is paused as well, hence inaccessible. This includes forms, datasets and user roles:

  1. If you would like to keep using your team’s forms and datasets, move them into a Shared Group or another active team, if it exists.
  2. If you would like to keep your team’s users active, there are two options:
    1. On the Configure tab, under Your users, assign a different, user role to each of your users. This approach will be very effortful if you have a significant list of users.
    2. On the Configure tab, under User roles and permissions, edit the affected user roles so that they can have access to Shared Groups and/or other active teams.

 

Tip: The second approach can be made even easier when using the Copy from feature. You can choose an already existing user role from a dropdown list, automatically updating all permission levels accordingly.

Screenshot_2021-01-28_155921.png

Resuming paused teams when you need them

When you wish to reactivate a team that had been paused, simply click on the Resume button which sits in place of the Pause button on the Configured tab. You may first have to increase the number of available teams on the manage subscription page.

The above is also described in the product documentation on teams.

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.